Memories of Pitlochry

Pitlochry is a special place for me, having been there numerous times during my childhood and when I lived in Scotland a couple of year ago.  Although special to me for nostalgic reasons, it is also an excellent place to visit in its own right.  If you do decide to go to Pitlochry it is worth going for a long weekend, or if you are exploring the wider area it might be worth using it as a base for a week.

Pitlochry
Pitlochry from afar

 

Location

Pitlochry is in the heart of Scotland, just before you reach the Highlands.  It is in North Perthsire, approximately a 1hr 40min drive from Edinburgh and Glasgow.  You can also reach it by train from Edinburgh.

Part of what makes Pitlochry such a good place to visit is what it is nearby:

  • The Cairngorms are just to the North
  • Perth is only 45 mins away
  • Blair Atholl is 15 mins away with attractions including a castle, working mill and the excellent House of Bruar
  • The lovely town of Aberfeldy is 25 mins away
  • Loch Tummel is just to the West with some excellent views and walks

 

The Town

Pitlochry isn’t a huge town but it has enough to keep anyone entertained and well-fed for a while.  The high street has numerous shops and restaurants as well as more mundane (but essential) facilities such as good car parking, a post office and a petrol station.

Shopping highlights on my last trip there (early 2016) included:

  • MacDonalds Butchers – where we got some excellent homemade sausages
  • Drinkmonger – where I got a nice special bottle of whisky I’m still working my way through

For eating there are some excellent choices and the ones we can recommend from across all our trips there are:

 

As for accomodation, the one place I can recommend is where we stayed on our last overnight trip – Craigatin House B&B.  It is easily one of the best B&Bs I’ve every stayed in, with excellent rooms and fantastic breakfasts.  The owners and staff were also very helpful and friendly.  Highly recommended

Craigatin
Craigatin

 

What to Do

As noted above there are lots of places near Pitlochry to do things but there are also plenty of places you can walk to in and very near the Town.  My favourites are

  • Black Spout Wood and Waterfall – we had a lovely walk round here in the autumn and the waterfall was amazing.
4A319244-C157-49EC-84F1-04808F2CE7BF
The Edradour Black Spout Waterfall
  • Blair Athol Distillery – the home of Bells Whisky.  We had a great guided tour round here with an excellent guide.  Worth checking out the single malt of Blair Athol whilst you are here.
blair-athol-distillery
Blair Athol Distillery

Also recommended are:

  • Pitlochry Festival Theatre
  • Edradour Distillery
  • Faskally Wood
  • Pitlochry Dam
9C49494F-3F92-4FEE-AE72-CE99D609C438
View from the top of the dam

 

2 thoughts on “Memories of Pitlochry

  1. Hi, I really enjoyed reading your article on what Pitlochry has to offer. I live in the Midlands but my mother is from Dumfriesshire and I’ve booked tickets to the ‘Enchanted Forest’ in Faskally Wood this October. I wonder if you’ve ever been? Pitlochry seems such a quaint town and I am really looking forward to it. Of course I plan on having a touristy day in the morning and afternoon, so aside from the dam, what would you suggest? (I am visiting by train).

    Like

    1. Hi Cameron, glad you liked the article. I have been to the Enchanted Forest and it is really good…if the weather stays nice! For touristy things I would suggest either of the distilleries – even if you don’t like whisky they are interesting. Apart from that there are some nice shops to go round but if the weather holds, then I would suggest walking. A couple of options would be to talk to the small village of Moulin or to Ben Vrackie if you are feeling adventurous – both are just to the north of the town. Hope you have a great time

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

