Wine Review – Altos de la Guardia

I’ve always been a fan of a red rioja but last month I tried a white one for the first time ever.  The lucky bottle I tried was the Altos de la Guardia 2014 from Spain.

Altos de la guardia

I can only describe the label as flowery and funky but the smell was altogether more traditional, being very rich and oakey.  Trying it without food it was very easy to drink with notes of pear and floral flavours on the taste buds.  I then tried alongside a pasta meal and it really enhanced the richness of the food and vice versa; there was also a lovely aftertaste from the wine.

 

I am now quite happily converted to white riojas’ and I would happily buy this wine again.

Leave a Reply

